A Long List of Directing and Coding Tips I Wish I Knew Earlier

Hi friends!

I’ve learned a lot since I started writing my first story, and I wanted to share some tips that might be helpful for newer creators. I’m by no means an experienced coder, but before I lightly re-vamped my story’s directing, I could clearly see how much better I had gotten at coding over time. Some of these may seem dumb or obvious, but if this helps even one person I’ll be happy!

Using Simple Coding Commands

Something I didn’t know about was the “starts” command. You can use this in place of “is” when animating a character and the next line of coding will begin right after your character starts that animation, rather than after they finish it.

Another important one is using “then”. If you want your character to walk somewhere and then immediately perform an animation, write “then CHARACTER is” on the same line as the walking command.

If you want the camera to follow your character to another zone, use this:
&pan to zone X in T
@CHARACTER walks to spot x y in zone X in T

If you want a character to perform animations quickly, repeatedly, and/or only halfway, use this:
&CHARACTER is animation
@pause for T
Repeat these two lines if needed.

Using Zooms and Effects

Something that I find takes a story to the next level is the use of zooms in simple scenes. Instead of always having your characters stand side by side having a conversation and keeping the zoom set at 100%, zoom on your individual characters each time they speak! This allows you to have characters talk to each other from different zones, or even different backgrounds.