Advice needed - First Time Author

Hi everyone!!

I am a new author here on Episode and have a few questions. If you could be so kind as to answer them or give me feedback I would much appreciate it!!

What is the best episode length?
I am currently writing my second episode and the first episode has about 600 lines of code. I’m not sure if I should add more or keep it the way it is.

Are cliffhangers necessary?
Should I include a cliffhanger regularly or should I not? I’m still a new writer and I want to be able to keep the reader engaged in my story!

What makes a good story?
I’m really trying not to follow storylines and topics that everyone else is doing. I’m worried that will cause me to have less readers.

Should I include art scenes?
I am decent and art and would think about including art scenes into my story. Is it really necessary or would I be okay without it.

My story has no CC, would that be okay?
My story won’t have any CC for any characters. I will however include choices that allow you to choose the MC’s clothes.

What can I do to improve my story?
I will drop the link once the first three episodes are published. I want to make this story as good as possible.

I have a deadline for when my story should be published but I am running out of motivation and ideas.
I’m not sure how many ideas I have left in my head and I was wondering if any of you could give me some inspiration for my story?

Thank you so much!!! :sparkles::black_heart::sparkles:

4 Likes

I personally feel that at least 2,000 lines per episode is best.

Cliffhangers are fine if they aren’t overused all of the time.

What makes a good story is a compelling plot + good pacing with character development and good directing.

Art scenes are your choice, but I’d steer clear of keeping them on screen for too long.

No CC is fine as long as you’re writing the story well, but I’m not going to lie - CC can be a dealbreaker for a lot of people.