American University structure?

Could someone please explain to me how life at an American university (college) works? I’m a Brit so my degree was in Wildlife Conservation and that’s what I studied for three years, modules in that time included; Ecology, Animal Behaviour and Biodiversity. All I know is that in the USA you are required to attend classes in a much wider variety of areas.

Please could you explain:

1. What lessons are you required to take?
  2. What are credits and what are they to do with lessons?
  3. Accommodation structure.
  4. What is a dorm advisor’s role?
  5. Social life on campus?
  6. Anything else you think might be relevant to USA university life.

I want to be able to know these things for future stories and feel it would be useful is all.

Thank you :blush: xx

1 Like

So cool you were into wildlife conservation, I’m in zoology and looking into conservation :smiley:

I believe I can explain a bit:

1. Basically general classes are the first 2 years such as History, Science (usually biology) which has a lab, math (usually high level algebra), and Literature/English class, and some Diversity class which are like art, psychology, health classes; generally any ‘cool,new’ classes.

2. Credits are like points, classes are usually 2-4 credits depends on the subject. Biology could be 3 if it’s just an intro class. A math class can be 2 credits if it’s just a basic math class; math that was already taught in high school. Higher level classes like science tend to be 4 credits.