Anyone good at lawyer stuff?

Okay, so I’m writing a story about a lawyer and a law firm, but I know very little about how cases are represented, how trials work, etc.

Can someone who knows stuff like that help me?

Thank you. Just ignore this if it flops :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I’m not a lawyer, but I was in a mock trial class for school one year :sweat_smile:

So um let me try… So you got two sides of the court… Prosecution and defense. At least in terms of in a criminal case. Prosecution represents the government against the accused person and are the ones to present the trial and the defense are the ones guiding and defending the accused.
They each have to come up with what’s called an opening statement and that opening statement will provide the structure for what their case will be like. All the points kind of have to be summed up in the opening statement and the rest of the trial will be using that guide. You can’t just make random stuff up as you go- it has to be with accordance to your opening statement or the other side makes an objection. That would be what’s called hearsay.
Also, the opening statement is very important because it is for the court/jurors. It is used to explain the case because they haven’t seen it yet and guide how you want them to view it. Again, everything you present from that point afterwards must go along with your opening statement or else it’s hearsay.
In terms of witnesses you can’t ask them leading questions. A leading question is where the person interviewing the witness tries to get a certain answer from them so they ask the something that will kind of just lead the witness lol. Like: You saw that robber rob the bank, didn’t you?
You have to ask the witness general questions and trust that the witness will stay on par with their story. The witnesses are prepped before hand on what to say and what the side will ask them.
So think like, “How do you know the defendant?”