ArtisticWaffle's Art Tips and Tricks

Hello! :wave: Welcome to my art tips and tricks thread! I will be giving some tips and teaching you what I have learned about art. As a disclaimer, I am not a professional by any means, I’m merely someone who has been doing art for a few years and wants to share some tips. None of these are guaranteed to work for you and you don’t need follow everything or anything for that matter.

First, it’s important to find an app that you like and can afford. Some that I recommend are IbisPaint X, Sketchbook Autodesk, Procreate, and Krita. All these are free expect for Procreate which costs a few dollars.

Now that you have an app, it’s time to get started! Make sure to use a good canvas size, at least 1000 pixels by 1000 pixels. For better quality, you can double or even triple this size. Using a bigger canvas means it’ll be less pixelated and you’ll be able to add more details.

It’s always good to start with a sketch and refine it until you’re happy with it. I don’t really use references, but if you want to go ahead. Just make sure to not copy completely, especially if it’s copyrighted. Using multiple references instead of one can help. Here’s an example of a sketch I’ve done.

Now that you have your sketch, you can add in your flat colors. I always think about the colors I’m putting down and think of a general color scheme to follow.

One of the most important things to add is shading and highlighting. This gives your art depth and makes it look more real. I recommend using the multiply layer function to shade. You can even use the same color as the blocked in skin color because the multiply will make it darker. On the other hand, you can use the add layer to add highlights. I don’t recommend shading with black and highlighting with white, but if that works for you, go ahead.