đź–¤ Ask A Cosmetologist đź–¤

I don’t know if anyone is interested in this but I’ve seen the subjects of beauty and self care floating around so I figured I’d give it a go. Like the title says I am a professional cosmetologist, I went to school for two years and have been a licensed professional for coming up on four, I’m not a dermatologist and am for sure not qualified to give medical advice but I do know a lot about hair and skincare and would like to share that knowledge with anyone who’s interested. If you have a question or need advice in the realm of hair, skin, and nails (I’m not licensed in nails but I did study all three) feel free to leave a comment below.

21 Likes

I have really bad bags under my eyes

1 Like

Are they puffy or discolored or both?

Thanks for this thread! :blush:

If you don’t mind me asking, my hair is really dry and brittle towards the bottom, I’ve tried different amounts of conditioner but nothing is helping. Am I best off getting a hairdresser to just cut it off?

2 Likes

The longer your hair gets the longer the natural oils from your scalp take to travel down to the ends, so they get brittle and split, regular trims (I recommend every 8-12 weeks) keep hair strong and healthy and I know it seems counter intuitive but they can also help your hair grow faster because it’s not breaking off at the bottom. I would recommend going in for a trim regularly.

6 Likes

Thanks, I actually need to get a trim so that makes sense :blush:

2 Likes

Is it true that it’s bad for your skin to spend too much time on your phone or is my teacher lying to me? :eyes::eyes::eyes:

1 Like

Not exactly. Phones collect a massive and alarming amount of germs. If you’re holding it up to your face, touching your face after touching your phone, all that bacteria, grime and oil is now all over your face clogging your pores, congesting your skin and causing pustules, comedones, and black heads. Keep your phone clean, keep your hands clean, shouldn’t be a problem.