Author Corner (How do you code/plan your stories)

Hey everyone.

I have been a member of this community for at least 2 years I believe.

Last two years I published my first story and it was doing great until school work and life caught up with me and I had to abandon it.

Last year again I decided to try my luck at starting coding for a new story, which I plan on releasing somewhere around the summer.

But since holidays are nearly over and we are all going to be busy again,I would appreciate if anyone could share with me how they balance their work and episode life.
I am a student in the UK and currently in year 11, when I resume school I would like to know how I can plan and code for my stories (bear in mind that I have a 2 hour study session afterschool)

If anyone could advise me that would be great.

And I also wanted to ask if 6000 and 7000 lines is too much for a story.
The story I am currently writing contains overlays ( A LOT) although it is not super advanced epic stuff but it just gives it a cool effect. I would say that most of the 2000 lines is dialogue , direction and zooming and the other 5000 or 4000 is overlay.

Thank you for taking your time to read this. Any type of advice is appreciated :heart:

2 Likes

Hey Episodestart,

Welcome back. I’m not a student anymore, but I understand you have a life next to Episode. I only take notes about the titles of the episodes and the characters, who they are, how old they are and who I need to credit. That’s how I plan. But everyone plans in their own way. What I try to say is… Don’t force yourself to write. So, take your time and take breaks if you get a writers block. Write when you have time and when you have the inspiration. :wink:

I think the amount of lines is perfect. I always have 2000 lines (not all 2000 lines are dialogue), but I think 2000 lines dialogue is a perfect amount for an episode.