Cannot move character to different zone and layer

Hi I’m new to to episode creating and am just getting started on my first story.

I had my character enter from right to screen center in zone 3. Then put @CHARACTER moves to layer 5 as I had seen on a yt tutorial. When I went to preview she did not enter the scene. I panned to the other zones and low and behold she was in zone 1, in layer 3, the layer she was in before I edited the script. I don’t know how to take a picture of my problem on the computer but I have copied and pasted the lines below.

@CASS enters from right to screen center in zone 3
@CASS moves to layer 5

I have also tried @CASS enters from right to screen center in zone 3 at layer 5

Any help will be appreciated, thank you

Can you copy your script starting from the background insertion?

If you do it like this it should work:

BACKGROUND NAME
&cut to zone 3 AND zoom reset
@CAS enters from right to screen center AND CAS moves to layer 5

yes I’ll do that

INT. NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM - DAY with DESK SCIENCE with INT. CLASS ROOM WITH WINDOW FAR CHAIR - DAY in zone 3

@overlay DESK SCIENCE shifts to 10 -17 in zone 1
@overlay DESK SCIENCE scales to 1.000 1.000
@overlay DESK SCIENCE moves to layer 3

@overlay INT. CLASS ROOM WITH WINDOW FAR CHAIR moves to layer 4

NARRATOR
He had been going to help her with an exhibit she was to put on for a group of middle schools in the area.

@pan to zone 3

@CASS enters from right to screen center in zone 3
@CASS moves to layer 5

Thank you! I’ll try that

Try this:

When you use the “with” next to your title, I don’t think you can spot direvt it afterwards like you did. Might have been the problem.

Ok I copied and pasted this into my script, and changed Cass’ entrance to “@CASS enters from right to screen center AND CASS moves to layer 5” and also added “in zone 3” to the chair.

INT. NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM - DAY
&cut to zone 1 AND zoom reset
&overlay DESK SCIENCE create and overlay DESK SCIENCE opacity 1