Contest Suggestions

Hello fellow Episodians!

I thought it would be cool and helpful for the Episode team if we pitched some contest ideas.

Not sure if it’s just me but I’ve been noticing a lot of similar contests and it makes me wonder if they’re running out of ideas. Either way I’m sure they’d love to see what we as readers and writers have to say!

We can also write some feedback on things we are tired of seeing in contests and hopefully the team takes that into consideration.

Example form to fill out

I am a ______ (reader/writer)

Contest suggestions:

1. Idea: explanation (if applicable)
  2. " "
  3. " "

Things I don’t want like to see in contests:

• item1
  • item2
  • item3

Other notes:

I will update this post as new ideas roll in.

I'll start!

I am a reader and writer

Contest suggestions:
I only have one for now but a sporty themed contest. The MC has to be involved in some sort of sport. Ideas can aslo be they have to be in a sporting competition or something like that. This leaves authors the option of the sport (but this may be constraining). If I come up with more ideas, I’ll just add them to the list below.

Things I don’t like to see in contests:

• Romance being required. There’s sooooo many romance stories on this app we don’t need a contest to make more, it’s getting old.
  • Gem requirements. Now I’m not a fan of gems in community stories at all so I’m bias but I feel like making it a requirement for the contest just gives more pressure on the authors and like I said I just don’t like them.

Other notes: I’d like to see some diversity of genres, like for Halloween I was surprised we didn’t have a horror or thrillar themed contest, that was very disappointing. How about a sci-fi themed contest, I feel like we haven’t had one of those in awhile!

Let’s do some polls too!

How much time should a contest last for? (a.k.a. how much time would us authors need to write before submission)
  • 1 month
  • 2 months
  • 3 months
  • 3.5 months