Cultural Stereotypes

Hello everyone!! We all know as a writer, involving people of different cultures and countries in our writings is very crucial. However, there are certain stereotypes based on where you belong to. It can be very offensive if a writer - knowingly or unknowingly - uses them in his/her works.
On this thread I request you all to comment down your views on this topic, and, if you agree with me, also comment down where you are from and stereotypes that you think cannot be more untrue for the people of your country (and there justification if you may).

Thank you!

9 Likes

This is very true! I think if someone is writing on a different culture they are obviously not they should do research and ask people of that culture.

As a writer I want people to be able to relate with my content. So letā€™s say there is someone of _____ cultural background and while theyā€™re reading my story theyā€™re like ā€œThis is so untrueā€ and so on and so forth.

The solution for this is to get your facts straight from multiple sources!!

:grin:

and please try to use an other source other than google translate. Iā€™m Latina right, so I speak Spanish. We DONT have the same slang as people from the states or something. For example ā€œGo to Hellā€ is a American thing (as far as I know) We donā€™t say ā€œVete a la carcelā€ (I think I spelt that wrong but it means go to hell. Iā€™m half awake)

From my experience weā€™d probably say something like ā€œVete pa la mirerdaā€ which has the same meaning but at the same time doesnā€™tā€¦if that makes sense.

Lol I prob spelt stuff wrong donā€™t come @ me

4 Likes

I agree! The best alternative for google translate is that just freaking ask someone from the forumsā€¦it will take some time but at least you will get it right!

1 Like