Deaf Representation (and other disabilities)

I know the progress for representation is going rather slow on the app, especially for ones that require new animation but I am interested in creating a story with a Deaf lead so that’s why I am highlighting it for now (plus I am studying ASL) and clearly they are not the only group who are under or not represented. Currently authors have created Deaf/ deaf/ Hard of Hearing characters through dialogue in italics, or thought bubbles, etc. And I love that they are been so inclusive!

And I can see that it has been requested by other creators under “feature and art suggestions too”. Still, nothing. So much time has passed and the app has grown so much - isn’t the time for more representation overdue?

It would be great to start out with at least some fingerspelling, basic hand signs, then build it slowly from there. There are 466 million deaf people worldwide. There may not be a universal sign language - the alphabet for American and British sign language, for example, is totally different - but it would be good to start somewhere, with ASL, since the US is Episode’s largest consumer base.

Not every Deaf/ HOH person opts for hearing aids, cochlear implants, etc. And ASL is its own language with its own structure. But there are currently not even any props such as hearing aids, CIs. And for other groups - wheelchairs, prosthetics, etc.

11 Likes