Dear Readers, what do you DISLIKE about some stories that you read?

Hey everyone, I’m an author and a reader but as an author, i want to know what readers dislike in a story. I’ll start it off first.

I dislike when authors make some choices sooo predictable, like omg nooo.

I generally don’t really have many things that annoy me when I read, except decent grammar. I’m usually really open to things most writers do and respect their style of writing. That said there are 2 things that really bother me.

1. When dress up games take foreverrr. Like you try 1 thing and it pauses, strike a pose, zoom from feet to head slowly and it does this for every outfit option. I usually end up picking the first one even if it’s fugly because I hate spending 5 minutes picking an outfit when it won’t affect the story in any way.

2. When they give you choices and end up doing the opposite thing you pick anyways. Choices are really something I’m not picky with stories, having a lot or barely any doesn’t bother me at all. But if you ask if I want to go on a date with Brad and I say no but 2 scenes later I’m calling him for a date, it’s annoying. If you want something to happen then do it, don’t make fake choices.

I think that’s it :thinking:

Bad directing :sleeping: I hate it when I’m reading a story and the directing isn’t good it really takes away from the story

Hey, thanks for your response. So in my story I have dress up games (usually 2-3 outfits you can choose from) and I have 3 MC’s . Anyways, in my story when a character changes I usually have them exit and then itll zoom onto their outfits (about 5 seconds long per outfit) but I do that so you can see their full outfit. I don’t have them strike a pose or anything lol , would that annoy you?

What REALLY nags me on is when the authors forget to add an animation to a dialogue. Like, DO THEY NOT USE THEIR LIPS WHEN THEY TALK??