DISCUSSION: Corona virus

What do you think about the virus? Is it being overrated or not?

Well yesterday around midnight we got an email from our school (I live in the Netherlands) and it said that a girl got infected from our school with the virus. They r closing the school tomorrow & I’m a bit stressed tbh.

24 Likes

I’m no expert on it, but from the research I have done, this is my thoughts on it. The media has overhyped it SO much. If you’re a healthy person, you should be fine if you get it. It’s mainly deadly for the elderly, sick, or immunocompromised. But like I said I am not a doctor, this is just what I’ve gathered from what I have read.

23 Likes

The corona virus is really only a potential issue if you already have health issues (like respiratory problems/autoimmune issues). For others, as long as you’re taking basic care of yourself and practicing good hygiene (washing hands, drinking water, etc) you’ll be fine.
If you’re taking the necessary precautions you should already be taking this time of year with it being flu and cold season, you’ll most likely be okay.
Like @episodes_bylex mentioned above it’s gotten so overhyped. I remember when the swine flu “epidemic” was going to send all of us off to early graves and it’s been ten+ years and I’m still here. The media loves to run with what it can. :sweat_smile::joy::metal:

16 Likes

The swine flu was never that serious nor any other before. Just my 2 cents :heart::heart:

4 Likes

I’ve been staying at home for three weeks in a row now and it sucks because I barely get to go outside, my grandmother who’s kind enough to come by and supervise me during the mornings is anxious about the coronavirus. I do think it’s overrated though, since there were no reports of any Vietnamese people catching it and much less dying in the past two weeks and I am really exhausted of learning streaming online where you have to FaceTime with your teacher on the computer each day for seven hours. Absolute torture.

5 Likes