Discussion: Revamping Stories

Hey everyone! :upside_down_face::heart:

I’ve been thinking about this topic for a while now, especially since it’s something I have been debating doing for some time, revamping stories. I have finally decided to take that step, considering the fact that I feel like I’ve grown as a writer and I was no longer fulfilled with how my first ever story ‘Luna Violet’ was, and I thought, “Needs one heck of an update”, and so, I’ve began revamping it, yes it’s a tiring process, but it has great results, and as a writer I am much happier with how the story is right now, even though I’m a long way from completing the upgrades and a long way from publishing the finished result.
I wanted to see what you thought, some people might be all for it cause the writer will be happier with the product, etc… Some people might be against it thinking it would be too much for the reader to catch up on, etc…
Should authors be taking a huge step like that to satisfy their creativity, or should they accept how their stories are to begin with and keep them that way to please the readers?

So let me know, what do YOU think? :relaxed:

6 Likes

I think that it’s very important for the author to be happy with their own work first. Since you’re the creator and there’s things that stand out to you that you’re not so proud of then that just mean that things can be better than what it is. It does take a while to do because I’m also revamping my story, but I wouldnt be so worried about the readers because if they’re your true supporters then they wouldn’t mind you making changes that make you happy.

1 Like

I’ve done this with two of my stories:

1. I didn’t change too much, it was just I had learnt how to do overlays and spot direct, so I wanted to incorporate that… I’m still slowly editing it now, even though it’s complete, but I’ve at least made my early chapters the same quality as my later chapters.