Discussion: What Needs To Be Shown More

I have seen topics about the things we would rather not see in episode stories all the time. These typically talk about problematic themes, bad boys, and Mary Sue Mcs to name a few. But this thread is about what you would want to see more of instead. For example . . .

I would like to see realistic relationships shown more in episode stories because I don’t think they are shown enough. Relationships aren’t all bad but of course that doesn’t mean it is all smooth sailing. People disagree and I would love to see more episode couples handling these disagreements in a civil way rather than it being blown out of proportion or ignored completely.

As an author I want to know what to avoid of course! I would also like to know things the community would like to see as well and I felt like that wasn’t shown enough and I hope this thread helps other authors to get a feel for what the community wants to see.

22 Likes

S l o w b u r n s
I love slowburns but there are barely any in episode, a slowburn means that it’s kinda takes forever for the MC and the LI to be together but it’s development and I love it.

39 Likes

I don’t normally read many romance stories but that being said I find some once in a while I like and they are all slow burns. They keep you reading and really make you care about the story more. Especially if the LI has some added character development while the relationship is developing.

8 Likes

Healthy relationships, slowburns, characters actually starting a relationship during the story and facing conflicts that aren’t “he loves me… he loves me not… he loves me… he loves me n- hold on, is that his ex? :face_with_raised_eyebrow:”, just well-written relationships in general.

I love romance done right. :slight_smile:

33 Likes