Experienced writers: do you ever get faster?

I’m not that experienced of a writer, I haven’t even published my first story yet, but I’m jumping straight into the advanced coding. I can do it, but it takes me a while to get everything in order, being the perfectionist that I am. It’s both a curse and a blessing at the same time.

I was just curious - do you ever get faster? I feel the need to preview as soon as I fix even the slightest issue and it really slows me down. I guess what I’m looking for is some motivation and assurance that it won’t be like this for every episode that I write.

I’m not super experienced writing with episode’s script language but I can definitely tell you I am much faster than when I first started (~2 months ago). You DO in fact get faster with time and experience. The more hours you clock in working with the code, learning it, sometimes by heart, the faster you get. Don’t worry about it. Everyone’s a beginner at something at some point in their lives. With more practice comes more fluency and efficiency with the code. I also try not to hit “preview” with every little bug I fix, unless it’s spot directing. I try to get the lengthy dialogue out of the way first so at least its there and I won’t forget any good lines I randomly thought up of.

That’s great to hear, thank you!

Eventually, you get faster because you begin to memorize all the actions and even the spot directing numbers. You can estimate appx where spot 1.280 100 0 is for example and get close.

What works for me is planning out the chapter and adding the scenes first with hashtag notes in between and placing the characters in basic spots on each scene. For example:

INT. BLACK - NIGHT

&CHARACTER1 stands screen left in zone 3 AND CHARACTER1 faces right
&CHARACTER2 stands screen left in zone 3 AND CHARACTER2 faces left

#in this scene, Character1 will blah blah blah

then I’ll begin the dialogue and add #directions like this:

**CHARACTER1 (talk_mindblown) **