Fairy tail contest tips

Hi so I’m entering in the fairy tail contest and it’s my first contest and I’m wondering if any of you have any tips or tricks that would be helpful for me and for anyone who might be doing their first contest

1 Like

Hi, I was I 2 contests - I haven’t won any but one of the stories was later picked up by episode to the hidden gems shelf - so I am not an expert but I know a bit about contests.

I would say that your directing need to be very advanced - stories with basic directing have no chance in the contest - the winners have always absolutely flawless directing usually with a lot of hacks and some wow effect in it.

Use choices - they are one of the conditions - some people do forget that and do not put choices in the story.
Make the story interactive - if you can add some kind of minigame or meaningful choices - do not use just choices for dressing games and simple answers.

And to the writing - care that you really fit the theme of the contest. You need to write a really interesting way to make them fall for your story in the first 3 chapters. Make something unique something new if possible, have interesting unpredictable plot. Do awoid if possible all slurs … if you use them do not forget to censor them and use it sparingly anyway. Basicly by in the guidelines - not too mature sexual scenes or too violent one act.

If you can, get really good cover - I am not sure if they do count in in evaluation but from my experience the cover makes bigger role than you thing in raising readers attention - if they will not like the cover, they will not even try to read it often. So with good cover it is easier to get the necessary amount of reads.

2 Likes

Ok thank you so much

1 Like

Hi so I’m entering in the fairy tail contest and it’s my first contest and I’m wondering if any of you have any tips or tricks that would be helpful for me and for anyone who might be doing their first contest