Honest feedback: my second story

I’m curious how people like my story that I submitted into the OV contest. It’s the second story I’ve ever published on here and I’m not sure if I’m just missing the mark, or have a low read/retention count because I’m a new/unknown writer. Let me know what I’m missing in my stories or what you wished you could see more of. My first story is Stay the Nite, my second story is OV: JUNE.

Story link

My Instagram is @wonhe89 if you’d like to see a trailer for the story before you begin!!

7 Likes

Hey I can proofread your story if your interested . I’m a proofreader for this shop if you wanna go and fill out the form just make sure to blur the password and tag me when filling out the forum , if ur interested.

I really liked it! I’m a new author as well but I tried making friends and building a following way before I published though so that has helped me some. It is definitely way more active on Instagram than it is here, so try to comment on some reading lists

2 Likes

Also don’t worry about your reads. I’ve done it so many times and beat myself up about it. Then I walk away from my computer and suddenly they are up again. I’m currently having a slow read day so I know how it feels! It’s going to hit you when you least expect it.

2 Likes

Thank you, that’s really good advice. I do get caught up in my read counts and get super discouraged sometimes! I probably should just take a step back and just let things happen naturally, for my own sanity!

1 Like

Im glad you enjoyed it, I’ve been an Episode readers for years and just recently started publishing stories. I didn’t fully understand how much community interaction really helps with getting noticed in the app. I need to work on my Instagram skills and being more active in the community in general. Maybe I’m too focused on advertising myself and not giving enough back to the community? Thanks for the advice :heart: I appreciate it

1 Like