How did you learn to code Episode stories and how long did it take?

I have a couple of questions for everyone that has learned how to write code for Episode stories! : )

• How did you learn how to code on Episode’s Writer’s Portal?
  • How long did it take you to learn how to code?
  • And do you have any tips you’d like to share with people looking to learn?
1 Like

Joseph Evans videos and pretty much trail and error. As well as forums :relieved:

Started in 2020 due to boredom but still learning today as well on some things that I don’t know

Honestly have fun with it, write for you not for others :two_hearts:

3 Likes

A BUNCH of youtube tuts

maybe a year or so. I’ve been coding since 2021

always use sound, try not to use the exits screen commands. And take as many breaks as you need

3 Likes
  • How did you learn how to code on Episode’s Writer’s Portal?

I used Joseph Evans youtube playlist, www.dara-amarie.com and the Portal’s own tutorial stories. Everything else is just trial and error.

• How long did it take you to learn how to code?

I learned the basics (overlay animations, spotting, zoom/pans) in a couple weeks of practice and learned the more advanced ways to use the tools within a few months - though I will say ‘learning’ and being ‘proficient’ in code are different. I still review the playlist etc and check things on dara’s site.

• And do you have any tips you’d like to share with people looking to learn?

I think the biggest piece of advice is take your time and really learn the basics before trying to stuff your story with tons of advanced code. Once you have a good grasp of the basics, the more advanced stuff is that much easier. And, speaking for myself, I’d rather have a well written story with basic spot/camera/speechbubbles in the right direction story than have a mediocre one stuffed with all the bells and whistles.