How do mysteries work?

Hey there!

I’m a new writer who’s currently developing my first ever story. I’m writing a murder mystery story and wanted to know if any writers who have written mystery stories have any tips for me?

It can be directing tips, character tips, plot tips, villain tips etc… Generally any tip that you would be willing to share!

Thank you!

3 Likes

Hey I don’t currently have any tips but I have a thread for authors!

Helpful Links for Authors :blob_hearts:

Hopefully this helps!

1 Like

Thanks! You have really useful tips and links!!!

see all joseph evans tutorials on youtube.

and dont be afraid to ask stupid qustions. though before you do try the search button(or joseph videos) to see if it already is answard.

and plan your entire story before you publish.

rather spend a couple of extra weeks makeing sure evrything is right in your story, then publish fast.

1 Like

So you’re writing a murder mystery story, great! Now here are some tips that I can help you out:

Mystery is all about solving the case, bringing the criminal to justice, finding people are that in the case that maybe can be victims as well.

So for your story have characters that are:

_ Ones who will solve the mystery.
_ Characters who are villain/criminal.
_ Characters that are witnesses to the victim.
_ Characters that are maybe related to the victim.
_ Have characters like lawyer, jury, etc.
_ Characters that are police, reporters, medical, etc.
_ Characters to ask questions at the police station to the suspect

Now you’re also going to need :

_Clues, like fingerprints, footprint, weapon, blood, etc.
_Crime Taps
_ Gadgets, or gear
_ Files like Criminal Records, etc.
_ Victim Identity
_ Searching for suspects, files, etc.
_ Cars for detectives.

All of this you can gain inspiration from watching crime shows, like Law & Order, CSI, etc.