How do you feel about expensive cover art?

I’m an Episode writer and reader who has been around since the days of Campus Crush and Real Hollywood. Not to sound too old but back in my day cough I swear I’m too young to say that cough most cover art was hand made or didn’t require much editing. Now I see commissions for beautiful work, but I don’t know how I feel about paying $100+ for a cover for a story I’ll never make money off of, or if the story has CC the character won’t even look like the art. Despite this, 99% of the trending stories have some sort of digital art and I can’t help but think maybe I should get commissioned art as well.

Readers: Would you read a story that had bad editing/cover art? Is that a deal-breaker?

Writers: Do you buy expensive cover art in hopes you’ll get more reads? Does it work?

General: Do you think a story can trend without detailed cover art?

I’m curious to hear other opinions!

9 Likes

My story ‘Foul Play’ has always had covers that I edited, up until November [just gone]… and those edited covers didn’t hurt my story one bit! The story still managed to gain 300K reads without a digital art cover.
I do have an art cover for it now, though. But that art has only been up for 6 months and although the reads have now increased beyond 400K, the rate that the reads have gone up is around the same rate as it was 6 months ago when my edited covers were still in place.
[Maybe there’s been a slight increase, in comparison to before… but since the horror genre isn’t a popular one, honestly the cover makes no difference.]

So… as long as your cover edits are good, I doubt an edit would put readers off. :blush:

For me: a good summary along with a great first Episode, is way more important than whether a story has an art scene cover, or not.

4 Likes

Im keeping this short and simple