How do you keep track of characters and outfits?

There is so much work in making a story.
I’m a new author, and I was wondering, how do people keep track of their characters and their outfits?

Many authors have so many characters and background characters in their stories, and so many more outfits. I was wondering, how do you all keep track of it? Anybody have some tips??

I usually name every background character and every new outfit with the name of the event that I’m creating. So, for example, if I have a scene in a club I would do something like BACKGROUNDCLUB1 for characters and club_charactername for the outfit. Idk if this is helpful since I’m a fairly new author too

2 Likes

That’s a really smart idea!!

1 Like

I learned the hard way that if you’re planning a long story, you’re best off naming the outfits with the name of the character you want to wear it included somewhere. I usually do something like:
CHARACTERNAME_somethingrelatedtothesceneorepisode

AMBEROSE_skankoutfit

3 Likes

I feel so stupid now :woman_facepalming:
That is really helpful thank you! :blush:

1 Like

I kinda do what @Zey does but I usually write ZZBF1 OR ZZBM1 a short version of BACKGROUNDFEMALE/MALE. I use The letters ZZ so that those characters are in the bottom of the character/outfit lists. Also, I do ZZBFFANCY1, ZZBFPARTY1, ZZBFCASUAL1, etc for clothes. I don’t like seeing the background peeps within my main character list lol

1 Like

That’s so smart omg!

Thanks! I know it’s not for everyone :blush: but I hope it helps!

1 Like