How do you motivate yourself?

How do you motivate yourself to write? I’ve been daydreaming for a story for a month and barely started on first episode and haven’t continued it for a long time. I’m scared I’d just get uninspired/ forget about it when I’ve spent a long time planning about it and I don’t want to let my efforts go to waste, so how do you make sure you keep coding and don’t get unmotivated/lazy to continue?
*I’m a student too so I don’t have much time :confused:

3 Likes

I lost motivation for over 2 weeks with my story after I published the first 3 ep, even though I had it planned out until the end. I haven’t fully got back my motivation yet but I managed to update ep4.

What helped me a bit is not to feel pressured to write or code. Then, after a while, I managed to get some courage to reread the published chapters and the upcoming scenes, and then I got excited again with the story and I want to share more of it to the readers.

Hope this helps. :blush:

2 Likes

Thanks for your honest answer, I’d try that :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Tbh I don’t.
Like I have read hidden gems that I fell in love with but the author burnt out after episode 5 and I get it. :sob:
-So I told myself until I can write 6 consecutive episodes and get to a plot point I’m not allowed to publish. (I think it’s the idea of publishing is appealing but putting the work in isn’t ;-:wink:

-BUT I know I’m going to have character moodboards for fans, so when I don’t wanna write I constantly go back to make new moodboards and improve them- then I get like a rush to say “hey this could work!” Maybe try that? I use PicCollage for them.

1 Like