How to write a more diverse story

There are three reasons why you clicked on this topic: you want to write a more diverse story, you want to help others write a more diverse story or you’re really, really, bored. Well, I hope that this topic is useful - no matter why you clicked on it.

Episode stories are, in general, shockingly lacking in diversity. I am by no means an expert in writing diverse stories - I haven’t even published a story yet! However, I have a few ideas of how to write a more diverse story, and I was hoping anyone else who has tips could comment them below.

1. Character Customisation doesn’t mean your story is diverse - Just because your reader can choose what they look like, it doesn’t mean your story is automatically diverse. What should you do? Simply create more poc characters - they do exist!

2. Characters that fit unhelpful stereotypes don’t make your story diverse - The nerdy Asian. The flamboyant gay friend. People do fit these sort of stereotypes - but not everyone does. Not all Asians are nerdy, and not all gay men are flamboyant. What should you do? Create characters that are ‘3d’ characters; characters with backstories who are believable and realistic, not walking stereotypes.