How to write an enjoyable vampire story?

Hey everyone! I am a new author that is currently planning my first story!

Here’s what I have so far:
The MC is an 18 year old female. It is the summer after her high school graduation but before her freshman year of college. However, her life suddenly changes after she gets into a car accident. She would have died that night if it wasn’t for the stranger that turned her into a vampire instead of letting her perish.

The story will revolve around the MC’s new life as a vampire. I want the MC to have a supernatural ability as well. The main plot I was thinking is that she is taken to a big city with her new vampire master guy (Sorry not sure on the term for this? Anyways he’s the guy that turned her to save her life.) They join up with his coven. The problem is that there is another coven that resides in the other half of the city. The leader of this other coven discovers your ability and tries to recruit you.

I know that vampires are quite overdone, but I really like this idea. Any tips on how to make this a story that you would want to read?

2 Likes

Sounds great so far!

Maybe she gets misses home?

She has to take Vampire school and gets a GED by day, and does normal stuff by night?

She’s one of the youngest Vampires?

1 Like

Ooooh thanks! I do plan on trying to include some stuff with her family and human life. But I love the idea of the vampire school and the youngest vampire! I think she will be the newest/youngest vampire in the coven.

Great! Love it!

I personally suggest adding comedic misunderstandings reguardless of your genre. As long as it makes sense with the flow and tone of the story, small comedic moments can often add to it.
Some of these could include:
If she has powers she needs to learn how to use them. Lots of things could go pretty horribly wrong there and her struggling to figure this out will seem more realistic than “and then she suddenly had complete mastery over all her new found abilities.”