How would I add autism awareness to my story?

In one of my classes I am a teacher assistant in a special ed class and before I signed up for it I truly had no idea about autism and learning disabilities.
All I’m saying is that I’d like to have autism in my episode but I don’t know to present it.

write what you think below~ :heart::heart::heart:

4 Likes

well I am autistic. autism can be very diffrent for people. and there is a lot of lies spread about autism.

personally I like to explain autism as been gay. both is something you are born as. people call it a sickness which it is not. people have trying to “cure” it in ways there is not just dangerous but deadly. and some parents act like it is the worst thing there can happen to their kid.

also there is a charity group called Autism speaks, they are the abselout worst and no one should support them. and here is a good video explaing why

4 Likes

also have you read silent voice, the MC has autism.

2 Likes

But what about one who is more serve
or who would have nonverbal autism

1 Like

No I haven’t read silent voice . I will look into it

1 Like

I honeslty dont know anyone who is nonverbal. I have a lot (and I mean a lot ) of friends who is also autistic. and most you dont notice before you spend time with them. and there it still often not your first thought

1 Like

That’s so cool!

But as a teacher assistant, I work with kids who have different disabilities and there is one who I’m really fascinated by because she has nonverbal autism but understands what I’m saying. I just want something like that cause that’s personals to me

1 Like

of course, she understands she doesn’t talk, she is not deaf. that is a thing I often have heard about people talk about autistic people like they don’t understand you. when in fact we understand very well.

Well learning disability i know is dyscalculia and dyslexia

2 Likes

I have dyslexia ~

2 Likes

NO! that’s not what I meant… I’m not good with words.