I don’t hate gem choices?

Okay so this is probably going to be an unpopular opinion but I don’t think gem choices in community stories are as bad as people are making it seem :woozy_face:
(If anything I think readers were being spoiled with the whole community stories being completely free :speak_no_evil: which mind you are thousands of stories!)

I’ll admit that some gem choices are ridiculous like paying >15 gems for a choice that has only a few lines of dialogue but I think the others (e.g support author, bonus scene sneak peek) are very reasonable gem choices.
We also have to account for the fact that episode is a company and they have to make money to pay people that work there. Authors also are people who deserve to be payed for their hardwork and gem choices help with that.

Disclaimer: on my story I only use the support author choice because I am a new author and it would take A LOT of gems and reads to unlock the writer’s payment so I don’t bother

Overall I don’t think it’s as bad as people make it seem. I mean there was a post I saw on insta that said some people are charging gems to skip a chapter they’ve read before and to me that didn’t seem like a bad gem choice but a lot of people were really mad at it.

One thing I definitely DO NOT agree with is the fact that gem choices affect the trending sections. That is very unfair because there would not be a level playing field and stories would not trend based on their quality but just on how much people are willing to pay!

Also this is just my personal opinion!!!
Does anyone else feel the same?

19 Likes

Yea, I actually feel the same way, I also don’t have a problem with early access, I feel like that’s a good thing.
I personally don’t wanna buy gems, so I just quickly tab through Featured stories for gems. It works fine while watching something. There also are a few things I would spend my gems on, it mostly depends on the author/story.

8 Likes