I really need help with rotating overlays

I am struggling alot with rotation, I’ve never done it before so I have no idea how it even goes. I’ve read about it but when it comes to writing it on the script i’m having a hard time. Please help I want the grenade to come in flying & rotating (spinning at the same time) here is the script: (line 280 on down)

Here’s a link to a page I like to refer to when working with overlays:

If you’re still unsure or having trouble rotating after reading this article, feel free to let me know. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’ve read it before but i’m so confused/ struggling really bad with the “anchor points” :confused: would you be able to help me? & would it move or mess with the shifting?

An anchor point is basically a point that an object will rotate or pivot around.

@overlay CAR BUG REAR rotates 360 anchor point 0 0 in 1

The code above has an anchor point of 0 0, meaning that the overlay will rotate/pivot around the bottom left corner of the overlay itself. In other words, the bottom left corner of the overlay “box” will stay in place while the rest of the overlay will rotate in a clockwise direction for however much time you specified.

The only other anchor point that may be of interest to you as of now is this one:

@overlay CAR BUG REAR rotates 360 anchor point 0.5 0.5 in 1

An anchor point of 0.5 0.5 is located in the middle of the overlay and rotating it this way will make the overlay rotate in place. To fully understand what I mean by that, if you haven’t already, you should try it out in the portal.

Finally, to know if it would mess with shifting depends on what exactly you do. You will have to play around with it, but for what you’re doing you just want to make sure that the rotating and shifting is occurring at the same time.