Improving My Art

My friend and I do edits but I’d like to improve my art. Can someone give me suggestions? I’m fairly new to the editing game.

I use ibisPaint by the way :slightly_smiling_face:

Here’s my current style in art

For me, I kind of just like to enhance everything not just the face. I’ll add to the current shadows and highlights that the character already has, but something I might add are like a highlight to a character’s cheekbones or adding more lines to create depth in the hair and I’ll add to the clothing, too. Sometimes I even add a glow layer behind the characters in the background, but that part just depends on your style of art.

Another thing I like to do is combining more than one animation into a single pose to add variety. For example, if I like the face of the flirt_wink animation, but the arms/body of some other animation (can’t think of any off the top of my head), I will erase what I don’t want and blend the two together.

So yeah, this post was longer than I thought it was going to be, lol, but mainly it all has to do with highlights and shadows. (this all said by a self-taught artist, there’s probably better ways to do it, but that’s what I do as of now). I don’t know if any of this helped you, but here you go anyway. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks, I’ll try it. How do you do highlights and shadows though?

blur the white part of the hair a little more.

No problem! And it really depends on where the lines are and what part of the character you’re editing.

Face: