Is it mandatory to cry at funerals?

So, today was my dad’s funeral. I am very strong emotionally and spiritually. He was sick for a very long time, it was obvious that he will pass away so I had time to prepare emotionally. We weren’t really close. However, I was sort of his favourite, I guess. I do believe that he’s in a better place that’s why I am not worrying. Also, I believe in a great God and I know he’ll take care of me. However, my evil family kept gossiping about me that I didn’t cry. They think that I don’t care which is not true. It’s just that I don’t like crying in front of people as well. I grew up taking care of myself so I detached myself from people. Nope I am not going to explain myself to them or approach them about it because they are just plain bullies. I am not a professional or anything like that but I can sense whether someone is genuine or not. One of my family member hugged me and told me to shush (as in to not to push her away from hugging me). I kindly told her to remove herself off me because I don’t like emotions. Also, I could sense that she was being fake.
I don’t like to complain. However, I would like to know, am I a bad person that I didn’t cry?
You can share your experience if you like…

14 Likes

It is not mandatory to cry at a funeral. You can cry anytime you want even if you don’t really want to show how you feel. So, crying is optional.

9 Likes

You are not a bad person just because you didn’t cry. You’re a good person, believe that. :heavy_heart_exclamation: :+1:t4: :sunglasses:

8 Likes

OH HECK NO

you’re free to deal with your grief however you prefer!
as long as you’re not being disruptive to the other mourners.

8 Likes

I’m so sorry but crying at funerals is not mandatory. I’ve seen people cry when I’ve been at funerals but I didn’t cry because that’s just not how I show emotion. Some people cry and some people don’t. Don’t feel bad for not crying, fake tears are worse than no tears

7 Likes