It's just so confusing! 😖

As a new author, I have been constantly trying to find topics in which people share what they like, and do not like in a story.
Most of them say they love a story with CCs, point system, choices that matter and decide the ending. However there are also people who do not like the entire point of ‘choices that matter’.

Again, many say they hate long dialogues and descriptions but when I read one of the trending stories, it contained exactly that! A not-so-required long description. The fact that it is on trending, just shows that people seem to like that just as much.

So, should I not follow what readers say they like and don’t like and go with what I like?

9 Likes

Hey , Im a new author too trying to publish my story . Honestly though you are the author and I recommend you write your story how you are gonna write it because it’s your story that you are writing and are sharing with the world . Plus it might help with motivation to write it and continue writing with it because it’s the way you like it vs. a story your just trying to modify which you may not end up liking it as much .

9 Likes

What @Catniss said. It is your story, your brain child. If you make it the readers story you will likely loose interest. And don’t forget that readers aren’t all alike. Some like long dialogues and some don’t. I believe most of the readers don’t even use the forum so you will not really know most of their opinions to begin with.

9 Likes

My advice:
Write. For. You.
Write something YOU want to see come to life. Write about what YOU are passionate about. Write about YOUR thoughts, feelings, all that. Do it for YOU.

You are 100% going to put more effort and thought into a story YOU want to tell instead of trying to please a bunch of strangers. I’m serious. You are never going to satisfy everyone all the time. Write a story you want to write.

Summary