Language Exchange

As some of you guys may know, I love languages and linguistics, and taking into account that these forums have people with knowledge of many languages I decided to create a thread where we could talk about the languages we like, the ones we are learning or want to learn, words we like in a specific language, or just random facts about how you use your language (or languages).

I hope you guys find this interesting, and I am eager to learn about the languages you guys know.

What languages do you know?

14 Likes

This is such a good idea Cam!

Anyway for the topic at hand, my first language is English. However, I’ve been learning Spanish ever since first grade. I should maybe be better at Spanish since I’ve practically grown up with it but I only learn Spanish in a class so I don’t have many opportunities to actually speak the language outside of class.

Also this year I started learning ASL (American Sign Language) which I find very interesting. Sign Language is so different then spoken language yet has its similarities which makes it very interesting.

I only speak English however, I currently live in Mexico and no hablo español so I’m learning!
My mother’s first language is Malay. I’ve always been annoyed that she didn’t teach it to me as a child lol. I really wish I could speak at least two languages fluently!

1 Like

I speak german & english. :slight_smile:

1 Like

ASL! I love that and I speak a lot of it, it’s really fun and I hope you like it!

I speak English and Bangla :ok_hand:
Only problem is that I can’t read or write in Bangla hehe but oh well.

I speak English and Dutch. I have French at school but I suck at it.

I speak English. I am learning French and German at school. I can fully understand heard French because my Dad’s side of the family is French.

I speak English, and I am trying to learn Japanese.