Matching characters to their appearance

When you’re planning out your characters, do you plan out their background first or their appearance?

For Example, when do you plan their personality, name, hobbies, etc. and their looks and style?

Whichever way you do it, how do you match their appearance to their personality?

I’m a new writer and I’m planning out my MC for my upcoming story. I know how I want the character to be, personality wise, but i’m struggling to figure out how I imagine the character looking. I’m even struggling to figure out names.

Any tips or recommendations that might help?

1 Like

I always choose how the character looks first then
think about their personality and plot.
I don’t really match the characters personality to their appearance because
I usually like adding plot twists to my stories , it honestly depends on your plot. :orange:

Personally I always look at other authors MC’s and then make mine if they give me ideas.

1 Like

Thank you, i’ll try that. :ok_woman:

I plan out how my character looks like first most of the time, have their hair color give them either personality or make them mean depending on the vibe I feel afterwards. After that, I decide how their style is and what is means for the plot if their important in any way possible

1 Like

Thanks that actually really helps! Any tips on titles?

Titles I’m not really good with myself. I’d say make it similar to the story but have it stand out

I always trust my heart while creating them in the portal. With the names, I search on google like ‘female name that means wise’ as an example