Need Advice For My First Story Please!

Hi guys,

I’m new to Episode and I’m really eager to get into writing. I am currently planning my first story but to be honest I’m not sure where to start.

I personally used to write on DeviantArt, but I got extremely down about it as no matter what type of content I wrote I wouldn’t get any reads. I decided that maybe DeviantArt wasn’t the community for me and I decided to try coming to Episode not just as a fan but as a writer! I’m scared that will happen here too though so I really want to step off on the right way.

I want to do a romance story and I’d like to write an interactive one.

When reading a story, what types of things attract you to it and how many lines would you say is a decent amount of time for an episode?

I’m happy to give anyone who gives me advice a shoutout on my instragram (bissieflame.episode) and follow you back if you have social media yourself! :slight_smile: I’m really eager to make some new online friends too.

Thank you in advance xx

2 Likes

Hello!
1.) if you need someone to talk to I’ll be here! :relieved:
2.) welcome to the community!!!
3.) things that attract me to a story would be a good plot, character development, interesting story line! Also some choices and nice coding!
4.) To publish an episode you need at least 400 lines but I recommend 1,000-2,500 lines maybe? It depends what is included in the episode!!

The amount of lines doesn’t really reflect on how long the episode will be. You could have 1000 lines and 5000 lines that are still the same length. You should record yourself reading it to see how many minutes an episode can be. I prefer 8-10 minutes, but longer reads are cool too.

An interesting plot will definitely attract me, but honestly I can get a bit sucked in into cliches. I need good dialogue though! A thing that will keep me reading is definitely good directing! There’s a bunch of threads on what attracts readers and the opposite, so I suggest reading those!