Opinion on love interest preference?

Do readers prefer storytelling that focuses on one person, or do they prefer to have choices?

I am a journalist, so I write for a living, but I’ve never done something like this. It’s been a dream of mine for the past 10 years to write a story about the emotional summer I had after my college graduation. Long story short, I was friends with two guys. One was a sweetheart, nice guy type, and the other was aloof, but I had a huge crush on him. You see this trope in Japanese Manga a lot, but in my case, it wasn’t a love triangle. The nice guy wasn’t in love with me. He was just really loyal.

I am wondering if it is better to keep the story genuine, so that the reader can feel the real heartbreak of an unrequited crush (and the suspense of wondering if it will change), or whether I should give the reader the choice to go after the nice guy friend if they want.

IMO, im tired of seeing multiple love interests where one of them treats the MC like shit and the other one treats her like an angel. I think if you add multiple love interests where they BOTH treat her like an angel, then I would read it. I’m just tired of bad boy vs good boy stories .

I love a focus on one person- it’s honestly so much more realistic.

Agreed. It would be nice to do something different. Interestingly, this story has a dramatic, non-love subplot that I think will be different than anything people have read before.

Do you think readers would be pissed if the MC didn’t end up with anyone at the end?

Thanks. I’ll let you guys know when I publish it. I have 7 chapters done but it’s my first story and I’d like it to be mostly complete before it goes live.