Q&A For Writers

Hi, so I am a new writer and there are a lot of questions that I want to ask readers to determine how I should move forward with my story. I know there are tons of threads out there, but I decided to make my own. I have recently read a thread about some readers’ pet peeves and realized I had been going about my stories all wrong. So I had some questions to writers and readers alike:

• Do you like choices in stories or do you prefer to just read?
  • Adding onto the question before, what kind of choices do you like/hate? Do you like choices that impact the story or does that stress you out? (I know it stresses me out)
  • Do you like character points? As in, do you like it that your choices impact your relationship with characters?
  • What makes you continue reading a story? What makes you stop?
  • What do your favorite stories have that make them amazing?
  • Writers: how long do you think an episode should be?
  • Readers/Writers: what do you look for in the first episode?

I will probably have more questions later, and others, feel free to add your own questions as well.

8 Likes
  1. I don’t care for choices honestly :woman_shrugging:t2:

2. I don’t like choices that impact the story at all.

3. Ehh not really.

4. I continue a story if it’s interesting, as well as if I’ve already read a story from that author and I know they’re really creative.

5. I don’t really have favorite stories now, but when I used to read a lot, it was Finding Emerald and The Doberman, 2 completely different stories but I don’t know they were just so interesting and I found myself binge reading them.

6. My first 3 episodes were about 10 minutes long, I think your first 2 chapters shouldn’t be over 20 minutes because that’s a long time to keep someone’s attention. I recommend about 13-15 mins:). All of my chapters are different lengths. But never more than 18 mins.

2 Likes

Thanks so much. About how many lines are your episodes on average?

1 Like