Schools in America

Hi, guys.I am a new Episode writer.I am not an American.So I want to know about schooling system in America more to write my story.About high school, cafe menu, locker system, exams, classroom, subjects (majors, minors, honors, AP) everything.Please help me.

1 Like

In America, schools are divided into “grades”
Children start school at age 5 (Have to turn 5 by August 1st) and start in Kindergarten. Some schools have Pre-K which is for 4 year olds.
After Kindergarten, the grades are 1st - 12th grade.
Each school district divides the grades into schools differently. I was in one district where Elementary school was k-4 middle school was 5-8 and high school was 9-12. I was in another district where elementary was k-5, middle school was 6&7, Junior High was 8&9 and High School was 10-12.
9th grade is considered High School, despite being in Junior High in several school districts. It is considered your “Freshman Year”
10th grade is Sophomore, 11th grade is Junior, 12th grade is Senior.