Should sign language be a second language option at school?

What do you guys think, we had no choice but to learn French, which I had no intrest in nor have I ever used it. However I used to work as a 1-2-1 support worker in a nursery and some of the children I supported were unable to talk so we used early signing (a bit like makaton)

Which I love!!! It’s amazing to see how they could pick up on it and use it to communicate some of their needs and wants.

I wish I had the option to lean this at school. I use it a lot and I see a lot of people who are hearing impaired but I’ve never used the little French I learnt.

What do you guys think?

4 Likes

When I was in high school we had the options of:

• French
  • Spanish
  • German
    And
  • ASL
1 Like

Sounds like a great idea!
It would be so much more useful! Communicating with deaf people, ‘A Quiet Place’ coming true etc… (the important stuff)

Absolutely

In my area there is an extreme shortage of people who speak sign language and there are scarce services aiding hard of hearing individuals in an otherwise hearing world. This was all told to me by my ASL professor who is a full time professor, an interpreter, and a mother of three kids. She’s working constantly and tirelessly because she loves what she does and she wants to help demystify the deaf community and their culture. I can only imagine the load would be lifted if we were taught the language and culture in school.

Not only would adding it to the curriculum allow people to be better informed about the language, but it would also lessen the gap of miscommunication and discrimination of deaf individuals in a lot of walks of life.