Spotlight Opinions

opinion

I’m currently experimenting with a couple spotlight mystery/thriller stories. Most of my work will be in regular limelight style, but I think spotlight might be okay for a more visual novel effect, heavy on reading. I have some experience writing, so I’m not afraid of narrating and am confident in my ability to tell a decent enough story, but I’m curious…whats your opinions on stories done in the spotlight style?

Do you completely dismiss them because they are Spotlight?
If so, if the story was interesting enough and written well enough?
Would you take a risk if the story was a short, interesting read (3-4 long chapters)? Would you if it was two really long chapters?
If you hate spotlight, what’s the reason?
What would make you want to read one done in that style?

I’m all ears!

I think Spotlight is fantastic, actually. I don’t hate it. In fact, I think it’s one of the most underrated and underutilized styles available.

I enjoy the simplicity and the straight-to-the-point attitude of the style. I suppose you are challenged (and I love challenges and taking risks) to write in an uncommon style that you aren’t familiar with, and I believe the author could be tasked to put extra focus to their narrative and that can make a story juicier when you invest in that, depending on how you write it especially. The ‘heavy on the reading’ as you said, the details, the syntax, the style of writing, etc. is something that an author writing with Spotlight must keep to usually high standards due to its unorthodox nature and difficulty, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing at all; if anything, it’s a benefit to the author to gain some skills and become an overall better writer.

Of course, you could do the same for a cinematic story, and any story regardless of the style should be of high standards but the spotlight style was designed for writing like this…