Story Fundamentals: A Help Thread for Writers

fundamentals

In order to tell a story and tell it well, it’s important for a writer to know the conventions, the do’s and don’t’s.

This thread will help with that — I’ll be giving you guys writing help / advice by explaining narrative conventions and how to implement them. People are free to comment and generate discussions, ask questions or advice, even disagree with me and explain why.

I’ve been writing for almost ten years now, but I still don’t know everything there is to know about storywriting. Still, I hope my knowledge comes in handy for people!

LIST OF TOPICS, FROM POSTED TO UPCOMING:

If there is enough interest, I’ll do my best to update this thread often!

INSPIRATION.

A source of inspiration for this was @fcukforcookies’s Tips, tricks, & discussions thread! I had been interested in creating a help thread before, but it really helped me with formatting and other areas. I definitely recommend checking out fcukforcookies’s thread if you haven’t already!

14 Likes

Definitely bookmarked in case I need some help :wink:

1 Like

CONFLICT: WHAT DRIVES THE STORY

Conflict is an important part of the story. Typically, it’s what the readers came for, what convinced them to click on your story in the first place.

So, what is conflict? If you’ve developed your story well, it’s at the heart of the plot. The conflict develops as the story does, and it’s resolved when the story has come to an end. If you were to remove conflict from your story, there would be no story to tell.

Your protagonist, or main character, should be struggling against something. That something could be external or internal, physical or mental. This conflict is what helps form the plot of your story.

There are six types of story conflict. You might remember them from English or creative writing class, but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to brush you guys up on them.