Supporting Authors with Gems... Yay or Nay?!?! 🤔

Hey Guys!! :wave:t2:

As a new writer I wanted to know how people feel about giving gems to support authors at the end of a story?

Do you guys actually do it??

Does it actually take your gems??

I can see why authors do it, if it supports their story and boosts their ranking etc! But me personally… I don’t have any gems and I don’t buy them so it makes me feel bad always clicking no! :rofl:

Therefore as a new writer I cannot simply put gem choices on my stories if I cannot give gems back to others in return!

What are everyone’s thoughts?!?! Any authors on here who do the gem choices and can tell me what it does and if they actually get many people giving them gems?

Danni :kiss:

14 Likes

Yes, it does actually take your gems to answer that question.

And yes, I try to support my favorite authors whenever I can—I want to support them as much as I can. I often buy bonus scenes, points, and early access is the biggest one. Occasionally I do tap their support buttons :slight_smile:

I do incorporate gem choices as a way to buy points, but I don’t do support buttons. I’ve never really liked them, but I may just start them—I’m not sure yet. I use them because my rank suffers without them. And while I don’t write for the rank, seeing such a low rank (we’re talking 17000s in genre, 66k overall) is extremely unmotivating.

I personally hate that authors even have to resort to this just to rank, because it’s such a dumb system. Smaller authors are never going to be recognized if ranks are determined by gems. Even with reads it was hard, now with gems it’s that much harder.

I have had people use gems on my story voluntarily :slight_smile: Some were completely on their own, some were because of a Gem R4R we did (meaning we read each other’s stories and spent the same amount of gems on them).

4 Likes