Tara explains: the things that no one tells you about being an Episode writer

Hi everyone! Me again!

Just a quick note, that for those who don’t know me, I’m a writer on Episode and have two published stories (The Amazing Life Of Cecilia and The Blazing Sky), and I also write articles on the Forums, and am the creator of an Episode story planner that can be found on Episode Life (or through my IG links).

Now, this is a bit different from my usual writing/directing help articles, but is instead a practical look at the things about writing on Episode, that you might not have thought about. This is less of an exposé about Episode, but more about interesting things you might not have considered, that are worth thinking about before writing your first or writing a new story.

Just a quick reminder that, if you want to talk about anything mentioned in this article, or want to get in touch for any other reason, I’m @tarastarofficial on the Forums and if you search “Tara explains” on the Forums or click on my profile, you can find lots of other useful articles that I’ve written.

Anyway, let’s get straight to it…

1. The pressure of updates
People probably do tell you about the pressure of updates - but still, that doesn’t compare to actually experiencing it. I’m very lucky that I’m surrounded by positive and supportive people in the community, so I actually don’t experience this pressure too much to the point I’ve been overwhelmed, but I’ve spoken to and seen lots of people who have been. Episode is not a full time job (at least for most of us), but it really can feel like it… it can be difficult trying to find the balance between writing for yourself (i.e. writing what you want, when you want) and writing for your readers (i.e. writing to help readers discover a new world, and writing to satisfy their demands, both regarding the content and the updating schedule of your story).