Tips for new authors

Hey so I’m writing my first story and I was wondering what makes a story a good story? Do you maybe have some tips for me? It could be about coding but also about the story itself! Let me know :blush:

4 Likes

Hi!
I’m not a talented author or anything but I’ve one for a year now so I guess I have some advice from experience to tell :sweat_smile:

• I’d recommend adding transitions to every scene so it can be more smooth

• Also you can add some characters that are more for comedy scenes or be like more from the reader’s POV

• You can add yourself to the story as a side character as well it’s fun to watch the author in the stories, I’ve seen authors doing it and I’m starting on doing it too

• I’d also recommend planning your story before starting to code, what every episode will contain of and things like that (I’ve made a planner let me know if you’d like me to send it to you for extra help)

• I don’t think I have anything else but feel free to ask me anything (either about coding and everything else, also a template maker and edit so I can help you there too, if you ever need something you can request it at my shop which you can find in my bio❤️)

(These are all my personal tips so feel free not to use any of them :joy:)
Good luck with your story :relaxed:

6 Likes

Coding:
Dara’s site. It helps me honestly so much. All Script Commands | Dara Amarie

Story:
Make sure your plot doesn’t get boring. Try to avoid filling scenes (like the MC just singing in the shower and nothing else happening).
Show the MC walk somewhere, go in somewhere from time to time, not always, but at least the first time they go there it is good to do.

I have a thread with 35 questions, a few people took the time to answer, it might help you too (it is story related)
Questions for readers

3 Likes