Tips for writing a first or *any* story!

hi there! i wanted to give some tips and things ive learnt about writing a first story. or any story in general! i am by no means a professional writer, im still in school SO. but this is all personal experience and it could vary depending on the person! lets get started!

1. CLICHENESS
    yes, its not a word, but idc. people are really worried about their story being cliche or generic, but lets be real here, about 98% of episode’s stories are cliche. dont be worried or feel less because your story is ‘cliche’. your story is your story! if you are still concerned, put a twist in there!

2. MOTIVATION
    it can be very difficult to find motivation to continue writing or even start. i myself have a VERY short attention span, so its quite a challenge to find something that inspires me to write. one of those things is MOVIES AND SHOWS!! believe it or not, most stories are sometimes based off of real events from movies, and vise versa. i find that watching a movie or show related to my story can really help me with coming up with ‘original’ ideas! also, BOOKS! now, im kinda a hypocrite on this one since i actually don’t really like books (apart from wattpad and episode LMAO) but ive read like a few real books and they’re not too bad. read stories with similar plots to yours, that way once again the inspiration will come flooding to you like a RIVER.

3. PUBLISHING