Tips on being a better artist?

The tittle speaks itself :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am not an artist myself, but i can give you some suggestions:

• PRACTICE!
  • When you “draw” for yourself make something that will be a challenge for you.
  • Watch tutorials.
  • Have a good inspiration source (i have actually noticed this on myself when i write, that i write much better when i have a good inspiration)
  • Also when you draw have a good atmosphere in the room you are in.
2 Likes

That’s really helpful thanks a lot!

1 Like

Everything TheGracefulCrow said, plus:

• Learn anatomy and how to draw realistically, even if you prefer a semi-realistic or cartoony style. There are anatomy books to help you with that and also plenty of tutorials online.
  • Learn color theory.
  • Do studies of your favorite artists, especially when you get art block! I recommend starting with old masters, like da Vinci and Caravaggio. The point of studies is to learn from their technique and apply those lessons to your own art.
  • Use references! Even established artists use them all the time.
  • Take figure drawing classes if you can, or practice at home using references. The more you improve, the more you should challenge yourself to draw faster.
  • Finally, draw as much as you can, at least a couple times a week if possible.
2 Likes

That’s pretty helpful tysm!

1 Like

I’m just going to drop @ChaoticDeluge into this conversation! He’s my wonderful artist and he’s improved tenfold over the past year!

1 Like

On top of what everyone else has said, I agree with the figure drawing and realistic approach in order to get the basics down and practice is always the most important thing of course. I’d say do a sketch every day, doesn’t need to be a finished piece. Just a little sketch in a sketchbook with pen or pencil. Can be anything. An object, an animal, a building, a person. In my case its tattoo designs a lot of the time.