Tips on writing a Female LI?

The title says it all. This is my first time writing a female love interest branch, and I want to make sure that I don’t make any assumptions, take short-cuts, or offend any readers.

I’ll try to summarize the story, but it’s kinda complicated, so please bear with me :sweat_smile:

Summary

The setting is in a dystopian world ruled by machines. It is a homogenous society, where everyone looks the same, acts the same, and thinks the same. (Think of what some might consider “normal” today). Basically, it’s a society designed to be “perfect,” succeeding where humanity, overwhelmed with differences, failed.

The main character, Astrid, herself is already seen as different because she is the only one in the city with a different hair/eye color, signifying her power and glory as the Sovereign’s – Ember’s-- general and girlfriend. However, she soon realizes that the city of Zoran is nothing but an illusion as everyone has been manipulated to believe whatever Ember wanted them to think. Things like: the earth is poisoned and barren when it’s really alive. He also erased his own brother and Astrid’s former lover, Kassian, from Zoran’s memory files because he tried to incite a rebellion.

Kassian and Astrid are (were) the only ones immune to Ember’s control because they were created to be different. So when Astrid gets the opportunity to join the Rebellion, led by Kassian’s succesor and created in his own likeness, she does so.

Astrid and the Rebellion leader become very close, very fast… almost as though they know each other.

… And then the story goes absolute haywire from there.