Useful Tips for Story Planning

While I am brand new to Episode and have not yet published any stories, I wanted to share these useful from when I write my own stories and from what I have seen online. I see a lot of directing tips and not many writing tips.

Finding an Original Plot
There are many ways to do this and not all of them will work for everyone.

• You may already be brimming with ideas, that’s great!
  • Read other people’s stories.
    • Obviously, you do not want to copy them directly, but other stories may be a great source of inspiration. You may be able to find interesting themes, which you would like to explore in your own way; or they may be a character trope that you fall in love with. Other people’s stories may even just be able to give you an idea of genre.
  • Find story prompts online.
    • There are hundreds of these and don’t be afraid to use them. Often they help you gain an entire plot, however, you can also challenge yourself to write a story based on a single line of dialogue.
  • Create a character
    • Give this character a personality, fears, strengths and weakness and most importantly a goal. Now, your job as a writer is to write a story where they are aiming for their goal but you do everything within your power to stop them from getting that. Whether they have a happy ending or not is up to you.

Write Your Premise
A premise is a single sentence, this sentence is supposed to summarise your entire plot. For example, the premise to one of my old stories would be:

Trapped in a facility, a female experiment subject experiences love for a female scientist who is trying to break her out - what will happen when the female scientist is arrested?

The premise is short and straight to the point. It covers who the main characters are, what the plot is and what the main conflict is. This is also helpful for when you write your description when on the app.

Create A Skeleton