What are some tips you'd give to your past self?

everyone has been a amateur writer before…

…so to help a fellow writer…give some advice you would give to your past self as an experienced writer

useful codes, commands, tips, tricks etc!

i’m an amateur myself & i would appreciate the help! :two_hearts:

12 Likes

Please don’t use “@MC enters from left to screen center”

10 Likes

I’d tell myself to stop being a perfectionist and caring too much on what other people think about my writing.

4 Likes

I’m not that experienced right now, so I don’t even know…?
But probably that @transition fade in black 3 goes after the background, not before, so that the transition is smooth. I used to put it before and I just went nuts trying to fix it…

5 Likes

why not ?

Spot directing is really easy so there is no need to use these basic commands. It looks much better and shows you put time into your directing if you use spot directing.

4 Likes

very true i agree i just wanted to know why not lol

Yeah, my answer would be reason not to. I mean people have said it won’t help you in the long run. There was a whole thread on it, so people must dislike it for themselves and others. It looks way more realistic.

4 Likes

I would say that I picked up coding pretty quickly but my problem is not planning. But it took me awhile to understand the & command so maybe it is something you should learn before going all in. Also don’t try anything you aren’t ready for.

3 Likes

i was lucky enough to come across this AMAZING website that has all sorts of templates, command & codings tricks etc. i think everybody should check it out because when i found i literally thanked God!!! :joy:

3 Likes

Yeah, I love her templates but youtube is a good place for visual learners like me. :hugs:

3 Likes

im definitely a visual learner as well staring at directions to code will make my brain go durrrrrr :drooling_face::woman_facepalming:t4::joy::joy::joy:

2 Likes