What counts as an actual read?

I’m a newly published author, less than three weeks ago, and my story is doing pretty well. I was just curious and scrolling around the forums to see if anyone has an answer to this question which no one really seems to.
So my question is, what counts as a read? Does it count when a person spends a pass on the next chapter? Does each chapter read count (ex. one person read all three chapters, +3 reads)? Or is it just when they start the first episode or finish it? Does the person have to finish the story for a read to count?

I was just wondering if anyone understands and would help me out a little bit.:grin:

when someones pass is filled, and they pick out a story to read, once they have finished reading the first chapter, one of their passes is gone, then if they want to read another chapter, same thing happens, the other pass is gone,

All of it counts as a read.

1 Like

That really helped me thank you!

1 Like

np :wink:

1 Like

I think once someone reads the first chapter till the end a read is earned by the writer.And if the story is interesting enough and the reader continues to read the story that’s going to effect your story rank and will decrease every time a reader reads multiple episodes.Hope this removes your read count confusion.

Moved to Episode Fan Community since this isn’t about story creation. Make sure to check out our Forum Tutorial for more info about where to correctly create topics, and feel to PM me if there are any questions. :wink:

I believe that you need to tap “out” of an episode for it to count as a read. So if a story only has three episodes and you’re stuck in a loop in episode 3, I believe only the first two episodes count as reads (if that makes sense).
I’m not 100% sure though.

5 Likes