What do you think about NARRATOR dialogue bubble?

Hey! I’m a new writer on Episode.
I’m still writing my stories and I wanted to ask you if you like some interventions by the narrator or if you prefer more dialogues.
I don’t know, sometimes I’m afraid of having inserted too many narrative parts, more than anything else to better explain the context

1 Like

I think it depends. (worst answer lol, but bear with me)

I’ll admit, many readers dislike when there is too much narration, especially on Episode where you got tools to make them visualise stuff.
Try to look at your narration and wonder if it’s essential that you tell the readers right now. Remember the key rule : show, don’t tell. If it’s context about your characters, the universe they’re in, etc. then let your readers find out by themselves, show them through interactions and dialogue.
If your narration is just “This is my best friend, I’ve know her for years” ; “I’m 17, my mum died when I was an infant” ; or stuff like that, cut it. It’s not very engaging to read about it, rather than finding out about it through dialogues. Let your readers make their own conclusions.
Now, interventions by the narrator are still okay if you really want to share some information that they need to know right away. Or just to set the mood, if it doesn’t take too long. If you really need to use a lot of narration, find a way to make it visually interesting with stuff happening in the background (and not just a still screen).
I have no idea what your story is about or what’s your narration like so I don’t know if those advices helped in your case, but I hope it did. Good luck with your story !

2 Likes